Our Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) for children is based upon practical activities and learning through experience as well as creating opportunities for children to record their mark-making and early learning – often from their own-initiated play.

Children are encouraged to become independent and to develop the “I can do” approach from the youngest stages, whilst being introduced to all aspects of the curriculum and school life. The Foundation stage involves a specially designed curriculum for younger children which includes:

 Three Prime areas:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical

Four Core areas:

  • Mathematics
  • Literacy
  • Expressive Arts
  • Understanding the World

From January 2022 we will align our phonics in reception to Rocket Phonics from Rising Stars.  We will coordinate Parent workshops to help support your children at home, in the meantime you can find more information here.

 On entry to Nursery and Reception we use the WellComm diagnostic tool to identify speech and language characteristics for each child. We then follow the whole school approach to Oracy based on the Voice 21 programme to embed speaking and listening from the start of school. 

 For more examples of what learning looks like in our Nursery and Reception settings, and for videos and resources to support your younger children at home, please visit their class pages on our Children’s Zone section.